Golf Report – 07.12.16

By December 7, 2016Uncategorized

At this time of the season both the men’s and women’s match committees hold their AGM and prize giving. At the women’s AGM Sereana Phillipps became the Women’s Match Captain for the next year and, at the men’s meeting, Jamie Brunton was elected the men’s Match Captain. At the men’s prize giving all the trophies won throughout the year were presented as well as the major trophy at the end of a season, the Forrester Cup, for ‘Player of the Year’. Men gain points towards the Forrester Cup during the year for results in interclub, Thursday and Saturday competitions and the various trophies competed for and the 2016 winner was Simon Buckley, who won by a ‘country mile’ from Dean Gray.

The women’s shootout final was played last Tuesday and not without some drama. Ngaire Stevens was called to play as the 19th qualifier and delighted the gallery in a close fought contest down the 18th and a chip out with Larraine Duckett. Larraine held her nerve and won the 2016 Moore Stephens Markham Shootout. The day was full of surprises, including a chip out with all five remaining players on the 15th and three of the chips not reaching the green.

This Sunday Larraine Duckett (runner up Bronze), Brenda Blatchford (winner bronze) and Nooroa Rota (winner silver) are all playing in the Champion of Champions at Waikanae.

The men’s Moore Stephens Markham Shootout final is this Sunday and the finalists in tee off order are Ray Verhaart, Carl Christensen, Paul Fouhy, Simon Buckley, Joe Tuoro, Sila Fa’aiuaso, Dennis Hogg, Gavin Harris, Murray Wolland, Rob Blackett, Kevin Mackay, Allan Carroll, Jeff Ogg, Mike Dixon, Ash Peterson, Conrad Shanly, Hira Renata, Harry Quinn and Steve Hemingway.

The men’s Cameron Trophy final was played last weekend, in gale force winds, between Rob Blackett and Jim Kettle, and Innes Kennard and Kevin Mackay. Unfortunately, the hurricane strength winds did not suit the Blackett/Kettle long hitting game and Innes and Kevin won 2 and 1.

The TRC Toyota Twilight attracted 61 players on Wednesday night setting a record for our club. Hugh Blundell took on the 34 strong men’s field and returned the best result of the season so far with 23 points, one ahead of Alan Williams.  Five other men returned with 21 points. Jane Williams won the women’s competition with 21 points on a count back from Jo Bird.

Another record was set when Jeanette McNae won the Wairarapa Funeral Services Longest Drive for women for the third night in succession.  That’s three Titleist ProV1’s she now has in her bag. David Greenlees was the longest man and Jan McLaren wrapped up a successful night for the 27 ladies when she got the All Teed Up ball for being closest to the pin.

17 teams have entered our TRC Toyota four-player Team’s competition so we expect to see big turnouts for the rest of the season, but there is always room for more players- however try and get there soon after 4pm for a clear trouble free round.

The vets held their Christmas Cheer last week and the overall winner was Sue Blathwayt with 28 points from Alex McLeod, also with 28.

On Monday the vets had their closing day and AGM and played an ambrose competition. Results were-

1st        Beryl Stuart, John Carroll, Alex McLeod, George Gray                                     35

2nd       Mary Herrick, Alan Kirkham, David Baker, Mike Inwood                                  34

3rd          Bob Macfarlane, Robin Whitehead, Carl Christensen, Pam Sutherland      33

The longest drives went to Alan Sadler and Gail Freeman and Bill Reid won the putting competition.

Trophies were awarded to Jamie Brunton and Isobelle Weaver for the respective Eclectic competitions.

At the AGM the office holders for 2017 will be very similar to this year, Vets golf begins next year on Monday 30 January.

In the New World Supermarket Thursday competition Jamie Brunton won the day with 43 points from Alan Sadler and Derek Clarkson, both on 42. Fourth were Paul Fouhy and Innes Kennard. The All Teed Up Nearest the Pin was John Tatham.

This Saturday is a normal club day and on Sunday the 19 qualifiers in the men’s shootout must be ready to tee off No 1 at 8am.

Off the Fairway

The club is extremely proud of the efforts of Kerry Mountcastle at the Toro Interprovincials last week but equally proud of Dean Gray who was the non playing travelling reserve and although he didn’t get to play caddied for Kerry throughout his unbeaten run.

Lastly a vacancy has occurred in the 2017 Pro Am field so if you haven’t entered get your entry in fast!

broken clouds
humidity: 73%
wind: 8m/s NNW
H 12 • L 12
Weather from OpenWeatherMap

Masterton Golf Club

Set on top of Lansdowne hill golfers will enjoy the Vista of the surrounding mountains ,and the Wairarapa plains as they play on one of the best golf courses in the north island of New Zealand.
The club is well catered for with onsite Parfection cafe and upstairs Bob Charles lounge informally known as the 19th warms your insides with a wide range of alcohol and non alcohol beverages.
Masterton Golf Club

Masterton Golf Club4 weeks ago

Wairarapa Sport Education Trust 4 Person Ambrose Golf Tournament

Due to a very wet course this tournament is POSTPONED until next Friday 29 June.

Masterton Golf Club

Masterton Golf Club2 months ago

ATU Queen’s Birthday Tournament
Jun 4, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Masterton Golf Club
Stableford Competition
$20.00 PER person includes Two’s & afternoon tea
Cards in by 10:45am for 11am tee off

Masterton Golf Club

Masterton Golf Club updated their profile picture.3 months ago

Masterton Golf Club

Masterton Golf Club updated their cover photo.3 months ago